Tags

, , , , , ,

In the early days of rock and roll, teen angst usually involved the breakup of a relationship.  Occasionally, it went deeper than that, with death coming between two love-struck teens.  “Last Kiss” was one such song.  Recorded by a few artists, J. Frank Wilson and the Cavaliers performed the version I am familiar with (1964).  The storyline of the song is that boyfriend and girlfriend are on a date and driving down the road when they have a terrible accident.  She is hurt far worse than he is, but she lingers long enough for them to have one last kiss.

As I reflected on the events of today (Friday), this song came to mind.  Let’s see why.

At noontime, I attended a homegoing service for a woman who had been a client of mine until illness forced her to retire and her income was too low to require her to continue to file tax returns.  For those who are not familiar with the term, when there is a physical death of someone with a strong Christian testimony, Christians call that a homegoing service rather than a funeral service.  We have faith that this person is no longer suffering, is now in a better place, and we will see her again someday.

After the interment service, some of us went back to the house of the deceased for refreshments.  I walked into the dining room.  The minister who delivered the eulogy was sitting there with his wife.  I told him (true story) that although I didn’t know his name, I prayed for him this morning, for God to guide him in his message.  He asked me if I was a Christian.  I said “Yes.”  We got into a conversation and at one point, he asked me if I was a preacher or something like that.  I told him that I have done some speaking in churches (though I didn’t tell him the circumstances).  He said that he guessed it because I sound like I am on fire for God.

Fast forward to after we have eaten and a little before the minister was about to leave. He leans towards me, puts his arm around my shoulders (he towers over me) and gives me a kiss.  Okay it was on the forehead and I know it was a chaste kiss.  And it is fine that he is married because I am NOT looking for a relationship.  But it was my first kiss from a man.

This is the same man who called forward one of the nieces of the deceased and had a special message for her: something she has been waiting on for a long time will come to pass within the next three weeks.  We’ll see if it happens.

Here is someone who feels a strong sense of communication with the Holy Spirit.  I guess the Spirit didn’t have anything bad to say about me to him.  Even though none of my naysayers witnessed it, it is nice to have something happen that makes me feel vindicated.

Nasty weather is forecast for my area this weekend, with significant snow accumulation and occasional wintry mix.  Hopefully I can get some more posts written while the weather outside is frightful and I will be staying inside as much as I can.

Greet one another with an holy kiss. – 2nd Corinthians 13:12

God bless,

Lois

