Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The following have been added to my Links page:

Additional studies that show a relationship between brain structure or composition and gender identity:

http://scicasts.com/neuroscience/2064-systems-neuroscience/8812-networks-of-the-brain-reflect-the-individual-gender-identity/

http://www.jneurosci.org/content/34/46/15466

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3654067/

http://link.springer.com/referenceworkentry/10.1007/978-1-4614-1997-6_115

 

Case study that verifies the existence of XY normative women who have been able to give birth through one or more unassisted pregnancies:

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2190741/

 

More and more evidence continues to become known that at birth some people do not fit into distinctly different male and female boxes.  When you put these studies together, this is what is significant:

  • In addition to the visible physical differentiation between men and women, there are also brain differences between male and female.
  • The brain and genitals both differentiate in response to hormones.
  • The brain and the genitals differentiate at different points in the gestation process.
  • Therefore, while in the vast majority of cases the brain and the genitalia differentiate in the same direction, there is no guarantee that it has to happen that way. For example if fetal testosterone levels are high during genital differentiation but low during brain differentiation, a person could be born with a male body and a female gender identity.
  • There are a variety of rare conditions that can lead to Intersex and/or Transsex conditions. Therefore, there is no one physical determinant that is 100% accurate in assessing gender identity.  Chromosomes are not always an accurate indicator.  Genitalia is not always an accurate indicator.

Thank you to one of my trans-Christian friends who provided these links.  I wish I could credit her by name, but she lives in a part of the country hostile to transgender people, plus she has other reasons to remain in stealth at this time.

The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? the LORD is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?  When the wicked, even mine enemies and my foes, came upon me to eat up my flesh, they stumbled and fell.  Though an host should encamp against me, my heart shall not fear: though war should rise against me, in this will I be confident.  One thing have I desired of the LORD, that will I seek after; that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the LORD, and to enquire in his temple.  For in the time of trouble he shall hide me in his pavilion: in the secret of his tabernacle shall he hide me; he shall set me up upon a rock.  And now shall mine head be lifted up above mine enemies round about me: therefore will I offer in his tabernacle sacrifices of joy; I will sing, yea, I will sing praises unto the LORD. – Psalm 27:1-6

God bless,

Lois

